Gone fishing , Spring view


August 27th

With nothing planned for the long bank holiday weekend i decided to get back on the bank for a few hours to see if I can get the buzz back like I used to have and with the weather not being the best with heavy overnight rain plus a strong easterly wind I choose to stay local going on gone fishing in Spring view which is somewhere that I hadn’t been for a couple of years even though it was only ten minutes from my house .

When I got to the fishery at 9 o’clock most of the pegs were taken which I hoped meant that it was fishing well and after looking at my options I settled on peg one because  this gave me a bit of room although I had the worst of the wind to contend with and wouldn’t be fishing longer than six meters due to the conditions .

As I was planning on just using paste today I only needed to set up one rig which would cover my top four were it was 4ft deep and long down my right hand margin although it was only just over 3 ft deep because i didn’t think the carp would be in any shallower water plus the path ran right along side it and any bank side disturbance would no doubt put the fish off .

At ten o’clock i was ready to get going and i started directly in front of me i was feeding some 4mm pellets along with a nugget of swim stim paste in my cupping kit before going over the top of it with my paste rig , it took me an age to get any sort of indication on my float and my first few fish were hand sized roach plus the odd pound skimmer not exactly what I was planning on catching.

Then out of the blue I had a couple of big carp around the 8lb mark before it went quite and i was back catching silvers with long periods of inactivity it just seemed that there wasnt many fish present , that’s how it went for the next few hour no indications at all or a skimmer then a couple of carp and no matter what I did I couldn’t get them to settle , although on looking around nobody that i could see was catching in any numbers so i just kept plodding along changing feeding patterns i even tried pinging pellets over my float to try to draw some fish into the swim and i also altered the consistency of my paste with sloppy being the best but it was all hard work .

For the final couple of hours I decided to concentrate down my right hand margin at five meters towards an overhanging tree and slowly but surely this produced a run of fish which included a couple of near double figure carp plus a few smaller 5lb fish , this swim was my most consistent but i still had long periods of inactivity between fish although this might have been due to the bank side walkers plus i lost a couple of carp which shot off into the reeds about eight meters away .

With it looking like rain I decided to call time on my session and I probably had over 70lb of fish which consisted of a dozen carp and a few silvers , but I can’t really say that I enjoyed the fishing today because I was spending too long without any bites and struggled to get the fish settled in the shallow water although after speaking to the balief it seemed like i was the only one catching a great deal but i still feel that i could have done better although i was using a bait that is still a bit new to me .

One thought on “Gone fishing , Spring view

Please leave a comment